Meet our Faculty

Honors College Faculty

Faculty from departments and colleges across campus regularly teach Honors seminars and department courses.  Each April, five Honors Faculty Fellows are selected by a competitive process to serve as mentors to Honors students, teach HNRS 101 Introduction to the University, and develop Honors curriculum options.

Interested in teaching an Honors course? Go to


Faculty Teaching Honors Courses

JPEG Image


Dr. Mark Porcaro, Ph.D. in Musicology, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. His research is in 20th- and 21st-century music theory, lute and guitar music and history, and music in the United States - especially music in recording, radio broadcasting, and film.


JPEG Image


Dr. Trisha Self, PhD, 1991, Wichita State University. Her research focuses on Autism Spectrum Disorders, augmentative/assistive communication systems, and working with children diagnosed with complex communication needs.


If you teach an honors course, send us your picture
and short biography to kimn.gollnick(at)wichita.edu.


Honors Faculty Fellows 2013-14

JPEG Image


Larry Spurgeon (Fellows' committee chair), BBA in Finance, JD. He teaches business law, insurance and risk management, and business ethics. His research focuses on academic freedom and the First Amendment.


JPEG Image


Elaine Bernstorf, BME & MME in Special Music Education, PhD in Communicative Disorders and Sciences. Her work includes special music education, arts integration and voice disorders.


JPEG Image


Michael Hall, BA in Political Science, M.PIA. in International Affairs, PhD in Political Science. His work focuses on finance, politics, and international relations.



JPEG Image


Douglas Parham, PhD in Communication Sciences and Disorders. His research focuses on child and infant speech development and speech breathing.


JPEG Image


Jeremy Patterson, PhD in Clinical Exercise Physiology. His research is in the area of blood flow changes and adaptations in individuals with cardiac and/or metabolic conditions.


JPEG Image


John Perry, PhD in Business. His research includes family business and business policy and strategy.



Faculty Senate Honors Committee

The Faculty Senate Honors Committee has put in many hours on behalf of enhancing Honors for the future.  We'd like to recognize the 2013-2014 committee members:

Holger Meyer (chair) - LAS Math/Natural Science
Elaine Bernstorf - Fine Arts
Gemma Blackburn - University Libraries
Anthony DiLollo - Health Professions
Mel Kahn - LAS Social Sciences
Will Klunder - LAS Humanities
Jeremy Patterson - Education
Roy Myose - Engineering
Larry Spurgeon - Business
Andrew Longhofer - Student Representative
Kimberly Engber - Honors Director (now Dean)