logo
THE PSYCHOLOGY DEPARTMENT

Research in Psychopathology

 

Introduction

Our research program focuses primarily on traditional psychometric research on personality and psychopathology in hospitalized psychiatric inpatients. We are especially interested in the construct of demoralization and its relationship to anxiety and depression.

Current Projects

We just published a paper on the factor structure of the Millon Adolescent Clinical Inventory (MACI) Scales. Other projects include a study of demoralization as it relates to the scales of the Millon Clinical Multiaxial Inventory-III (MCMI-III), a study of the Higher Order scales of the new MMPI-2-RF inventory, a study of the MCMI-III facet scales with facet scales derived for the MMPI-2-RC inventory, a study of the efficiency of the MCMI-III personality scales to predict membership in three Axis II diagnostic categories, a study of the effect of age and gender on demoralization, depression, and anxiety, and a study of the relationship of the new MMPI-2-RF Fs scale to the Modifying Indices of the MCMI-III.

Publications

Selected publications

Adkisson, R., Burdsal, C., Dorr, D. & Morgan, C.D. (2012). Factor structure of the Millon Adolescent Clinical Inventory scales. Personality and Individual Differences, 53, 501-506.

Dorr, D. (2006). Treatment from Millon’s biosocial-learning perspective: Personologic psychotherapy. In F. Rotgers & M. Maniacci (Eds.), Comparative treatments of antisocial personality disorder (pp. 63-89). New York: Springer.

Dorr, D. (2005). The role of common factors in domain-focused psychotherapy for the personality disorders. In S. Strack (Ed.), Personology and psychotherapy (pp.478-494).  New York: Guilford Press.

Schoenberg, M.R., Dorr, D., & Morgan, C.D. (2006). Development of discriminant functions to detect dissimulation for the Millon Clinical Multiaxial Inventory-3rd Edition (MCMI-III). Journal of Forensic Psychiatry and Psychology.

Dorr, D. (2008). Clinical integration of the MCMI-III and the Comprehensive System Rorschach. In T. Millon, C. Bloom & S. Grossman (Eds.) Personality guided clinical assessment. NY: Guilford Publications.

 

Faculty

Dr. Darwin Dorr
440 Jabara Hall
darwin.dorr@wichita.edu

 

Graduate Students

Lindsey Bupp
445 Jabara Hall
llbupp@wichita.edu
Britania Latronica
Serving clinical internship
bjlatronica@wichita.edu
Ryan Leiker
Serving clinical internship
raleiker@wichita.edu
Ronald Partridge
Serving clinical internship
rwpartridge@wichita.edu
Deidra Salamone
445 Jabara Hall
dlrendinell@wichita.edu
Emanuel Vondran
445 Jabara Hall
ejvondron@wichita.edu
Sydney Walsh
445 Jabara Hall
sawalsh@wichita.edu
Blake Webster
Serving clinical internship
bkwebster@wichita.edu