logo
THE PSYCHOLOGY DEPARTMENT

Research in Psychopathology

 

Introduction

The primary focus of our research program is on traditional psychometric research on personality and psychopathology in hospitalized psychiatric inpatients. One of our recent research interests includes exploring the factor structure of openness to experience and its relationship to psychopathology. We are also especially interested in the construct of demoralization and its relationship to anxiety and depression.

 

Current Projects

Our current projects include a study of the revised Personality Psychopathology Five (PSY-5) scales of the Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory-2 Restructured Form (MMPI-2-RF) and how they map onto the Grossman Facet Scales of the Millon Clinical Multiaxial Inventory-III (MCMI-III). Another study focuses on the relationship of the internalizing and externalizing behaviors found in Borderline Personality Disorder to the Grossman facet scales for the Borderline Tendency Personality Scale of the Millon Adolescent Clinical Inventory (MACI).


Publications


Selected publications

Adkisson, R., Burdsal, C., Dorr, D. & Morgan, C.D. (2012). Factor structure of the Millon Adolescent Clinical Inventory scales. Personality and Individual Differences, 53, 501-506.

Dorr, D. (2006). Treatment from Millon’s biosocial-learning perspective: Personologic psychotherapy. In F. Rotgers & M. Maniacci (Eds.), Comparative treatments of antisocial personality disorder (pp. 63-89). New York: Springer.

Dorr, D. (2005). The role of common factors in domain-focused psychotherapy for the personality disorders. In S. Strack (Ed.), Personology and psychotherapy (pp.478-494).  New York: Guilford Press.

Schoenberg, M.R., Dorr, D., & Morgan, C.D. (2006). Development of discriminant functions to detect dissimulation for the Millon Clinical Multiaxial Inventory-3rd Edition (MCMI-III). Journal of Forensic Psychiatry and Psychology.

Dorr, D. (2008). Clinical integration of the MCMI-III and the Comprehensive System Rorschach. In T. Millon, C. Bloom & S. Grossman (Eds.) Personality guided clinical assessment. NY: Guilford Publications.

 

Faculty

Dr. Darwin Dorr
440 Jabara Hall
darwin.dorr@wichita.edu

 

Research Collaborator

Dr. C. Don Morgan
KU School of Medicine-Wichita
dmorgan3@kumc.edu

 

Graduate Students

Lindsey Bupp
445 Jabara Hall
llbupp@wichita.edu
Rayna Herren
445 Jabara Hall
rkherren@wichita.edu

Ryan Leiker
raleiker@wichita.edu

Jasmine Harris
404 Jabara Hall
jbharris1@wichita.edu
Deidra Salamone
Serving clinical internship
dlrendinell@wichita.edu
Yvonne Chaw
439 Jabara Hall
jxchaw@wichita.edu
Sydney Walsh
445 Jabara Hall
sawalsh@wichita.edu
 

 

Research Assistants

Colyn Jones
ctjones1@wichita.edu

Amanda Hood
ajhood@wichita.edu

Jennifer Erskin
jennye246@hotmail.com

 

PNG Image

From left to right: Yvonne Chaw, Rayna Herren, Lindsey Bupp, Jasmine Harris, Dr. Darwin Dorr, Colyn Jones, Sydney Walsh, Amanda Hood, Dr. C. Don Morgon

Not pictured: Ryan Leiker, Deidra Salamone and Jennifer Erskin

Alumni

Congratulations to recent graduates who have been a part of our lab:

Britania Latronica
Ronald Partridge
Emanuel Vondran
Blake Webster