logo
CADMAN ART GALLERY

Cadman Art Gallery Main Exhibits

Fall 2014


Unnatural Death / Human Nature

Dale Small

Monday, August 11 - Friday, August 22

We as humans are a part of NATURE. At times we challenge existence through negligence. Everyday lives as equal as ours are taken because of UNNATURAL by HUMAN NATURE. Let this be a message to the importance of NATURE.

PNG Image

Accumulate: A mass of

Molly Williams

Monday, August 25 - Friday, September 5

This body of work enabled me to develop my own cultural understanding and voice in clay as I became inspired by Ancient Sepik pottery as well as modern works from Matta Ortiz, Mexico. The cumulation of pattern and surface in my work represent the formulation of identity through the influence of a variety of cultures, which may not belong to oneself by traditional standards.

JPEG Image

RSC Grand Opening

Monday, September 8 - Friday, September 19

Take a historical look at the evolution of the Rhatigan Student Center. The collection will include a collection of images from the original the Campus Activities Center, phasing of the current renovation and historical milestones.

The exhibit takes will occur during the Rhatigan Student Center Grand Opening week which takes place Monday, September 15 - Friday, September 19.

JPEG Image

Disabled Creatures

Talia Bowman-Bekemeyer

Monday, September 22 – Friday, October 3

The artworks represent the emotional view from individual’s first encounter with adults with disabilities out of subject perspective. Caring for the handicaps with high rates of mental disorders seems challenging from the complexity of two different genetic genes in one appearance. The disability support systems don’t matter to first encounters, when their behavior stands out as disabled creatures. 

JPEG Image

Empty Bowls

Exhibit prepared by WSU Ceramics Guild

Monday, October 6 - Friday, October 17

In effort to raise awareness of local hunger, the WSU Ceramics Guild presents: “Empty Bowls” an exhibition of ceramic bowls by WSU Faculty, Alumni and guild members. This exhibition will be a reminder of all the empty bowls in our community. Come get inspired & help fight hunger.

JPEG Image

Elements Exhibit

22nd Annual Multi-Media Competition

Monday, October 20 - Friday, October 31

Celebrate the achievements of student artists competing in the 22nd Annual Elements Multi-Media Arts Competition. During the reception, awards will be announced for those who placed in the categories of ceramics, drawing, mixed-media, painting and printmaking as well as the Best of Show recipient Winners are selected by local Wichita artists.

Reception & Awards Ceremony

Tuesday, October 28
6:00 PM
RSC 1st Floor, Bluestem Lounge

JPEG Image

Cultural, Ink, and Grid

Eriberto Biera

Monday, November 3 - Friday, November 14

Grids are conceptually perfect in art. Culture is an ever evolving list of values. When grids have been applied to culture, there has been a failure of application. These works are a visual presentation of those clashes between grid and culture.

JPEG Image

Finding My Voice

Tyler Stonestreet

Monday, November 17 - Wednesday, November 26

Tyler makes handcrafted utilitarian pots that express gesture, surface, and line quality. Surface is expressed through soda firing and flashing slips. Influences include Japanese, Mayan, and Taluvera pottery for form and graffiti influences for brushed surfaces. Beauty shines in harmony with nature. 

JPEG Image

Connections

Rhonda Davis

Monday, December 1 - Friday, December 12

Pen/ink/graphite explorations through line and value of the physical and psychological elements that connect or disconnect us to each other and the world we share.

JPEG Image