logo
WSU WOMEN'S ASSOCIATION

JPEG Image (615x172)

WSU Women's Association's Interest Groups

As membership of this organization is diverse, members' interests travel many different paths. These small groups are defined and organized by the membership, offering different times and a variety of venues to provide you an opportunity to join other women in camaraderie with similar interests. We encourage you to visit at least one to help you become more active in the University Community.

Bridge
Chair: Naomi Strong, 641-2525, naomi.strong@wichita.edu

Evening group meets each month on the 1st & 3rd Wednesdays in members' homes at 7:00 p.m. Players take turns hosting the games.

Afternoon group meets each month on the 2nd and 4th Wednesdays, 1:00 p.m. in members' homes. Players take turns hosting the games..

Book Club
Co-Chairs: Angela Paul, Home:  361-8877, Work:  978-5084 or email:  angela.paul@wichita.edu, and Barb Smith, Home: 686-9454, Work:  978-5784 or email:  barb.smith@wichita.edu
Usually meets the 3rd Thursday each month in the evening at members' homes. Members make the selection of books which are read and discussed with wonderful snacks provided.

Friends and Food
Chair:  Mary Yeager, Home: 681-3295 or email:  mkbyeager@yahoo.com, Co-Chair: Ann Hunter, Home:  733-5269, Work:   978-5639 or email:  ann.hunter@wichita.edu.
A group social gathering with guests included, meeting in local restaurants several times a year usually in the evenings.

Lunch Bunch
Chair:  Pat Brock, Home:  683-7234, or email: aptbrock@yahoo.com, Co-Chair:  Corinne Nilsen, Home:  733-2423, Work:  978-7814, or email:  corinne.nilsen@wichita.edu
A monthly social gathering meeting in local restaurants for lunch and camaraderie.

New Members
Chair:  Bobbi Dreiling, Home: 686-6410, Work:  978-3504, or email:  bobbi.dreiling@wichita.edu.
This group focuses on bringing new, continuing, and seasoned women from the WSU Community together. You are invited to join us as we learn about the history of WSU, activities and points of interest in Wichita, and how the women in the WSU Women's Association enhance the WSU Community.

Stitch and Chatter
Chair: Marge Terflinger, Home:   684-5853, or email:  terfnet@aol.com
Meets in members' homes on the 2nd Thursday each month. You are invited to join this group for afternoons filled with creative stitching and enjoyable chatter. Bring a project or just come and visit.

Treasures
Chair: Charlotte Kleffner, 686-3274, kleffnercf@aol.com
Meets at Larksfield Place, 7373 East 29th Street North, 7:00 p.m. monthly on a Friday. Guests are welcome. Come and hear individuals from the University Community share interests and projects.

If you are interested in starting an intereste group not listed above, contact the Interest Group Chair, Virginia Murphey, by email at gdmurphey@sbcglobal.net, or by calling 682-7387.