Sept. 26, 2012 

Gordon Vadakin
Phone (316) 978-7655
Fax (316) 978-6056
email - shocker.bowling@wichita.edu

Shocker Bowling Announces
2012-2013 Team Roster

WICHITA, Kan. – After its three-week tryout process, Shocker Bowling has added 10 players to its selected team roster, which previously consisted of 12 exempt players.

The tryout process was conducted to determine the remaining spots on the men’s and women’s teams, as well as the spots available on the developmental teams.

This year, the women’s team will consist of ten players, while the men’s team will consist of twelve.

The following players earned the remaining four spots on the women’s team: Brianna Amidon (Pittsfield, Mass.), Heather Melvin (Sioux Falls, S.D.), Melissa Sobolik (Marion, Iowa), and Leela Yahya (Wichita, Kan.).

The following players earned the remaining six spots on the men’s team: Kenny Benoit (Topeka, Kan.), Chris Colella (Templeton, Mass.), Tyler Maxwell (Wichita, Kan.), Roger Petrin (Locust, N.C.), Nick Powers (Sun Prairie, Wis.), and Andy Sykes (New Hampton, England).

Earlier this year the program introduced exemptions. A player, new or returning, has the opportunity to earn an exemption for the following year.

If a player earns an exemption, then they bypass the tryout process and automatically earn a spot on the following year’s selected team.

The following players on the men’s side earned exemptions for the 2012-2013 bowling season: Marcus Berndt (Malmo, Sweden), Devin Bidwell (Moorpark, Calif.), A.J. Chapman (Manchester, Iowa), Francois Lavoie (Quebec City, Canada), Miguel Lopez (Peoria, Ariz.) and Zach Rhoades (Lafayette, Ind.).

The following players on the women’s side earned exemptions for the 2012-2013 bowling season: Holly Harris (long Prairie, Minn.), Allie Ijams (Mission Viejo, Calif.), Dasha Kovalova (Moscow, Russia), Kelsey Muther (Topeka, Kan.), Tannya Roumimper (Bandung, Indonesia) and Jazreel Tan (Singapore).

More information about the bowling program can be found at wichita.edu/bowling.

The Rhatigan Student Center has been the major financial and administrative supporter of the Wichita State University bowling program since 1959.