Nov. 27, 2012 

Gordon Vadakin
Phone (316) 978-7655
Fax (316) 978-6056
email - shocker.bowling@wichita.edu

Lady Shockers Win Fourth Tournament of the Season 

WICHITA, Kan. – The Wichita State women’s bowling team secured its fourth win of the season over the weekend at the National Team Match Games tournament in Belleville, Ill.

This tournament marked the fifth competition of the season for the men and women.

After the first day of qualifying, the women led the field by more than 100 pins over the second place team. The Lady Shockers were able to hold on to their lead throughout the second day of the competition, taking home a first place finish.

Five women finished in the top ten of the tournament, with three of those women earning a spot on the All-Tournament team.

Taking home a second place finish in the tournament was junior Tannya Roumimper (Bandung, Indonesia) with a 214.3 average for six games. Close behind Roumimper was freshman Dasha Kovalova (Moscow, Russia) with a 213.0 average. Sophomore Brianna Amidon (Pittsfield, Mass.) was the last Shocker to earn a spot on the All-Tournament team, averaging 211.3 over the course of the tournament.

Sophomore Heather Melvin (Sioux Falls, S.D.) and senior Melissa Sobolik (Marion, Iowa) also finished in the top ten of the tournament with 207.8 and 204. 2 averages, respectively.

“This was another good event for both teams,” Head Coach Gordon Vadakin said. “There are a number of areas that both the players and coaches are focusing on to improve.”

The Shocker men had a steady performance on the first day of competition, finishing just 89 pins behind qualifying leader Robert Morris – Illinois. Unfortunately, they were unable to pull ahead during the second day, falling 100 pins shy of first place.

Sophomore Francois Lavoie (Quebec City, Canada) led the men’s team with a 222.2 average for five games.

The Shockers will travel to Las Vegas next month to compete in the final two tournaments of the year.

The Rhatigan Student Center has been the major financial and administrative supporter of the Wichita State University bowling program since 1959.