May 31, 2013 

Gordon Vadakin
Phone (316) 978-7655
Fax (316) 978-6056
email - shocker.bowling@wichita.edu

Shocker Alumni Take Top Seeds at PBA Badger Open

WICHITA, Kan. – After 26 games of qualifying and match-play, two Shocker alums find themselves still in the running for their first Professional Bowlers Association (PBA) title at the Lucas Oil Badger Open at AMF Bowlero Lanes in Milwaukee, Wis., on June 2. The telecast is set to air on June 11 at 7 p.m. ET on CBS Sports Network.

Josh Blanchard (’08-’10) will be the No. 1 seed and Jake Peters (’07-’11) will be the No. 2 on the telecast. This is Blanchard’s second telecast while on the PBA and Peters’ first.

Blanchard earned top seed honors by having a match play record of 12-4-0 and a 26-game total of 6,426. Peters was just 10 pins behind Blanchard with a 26 game total of 6,416, going 10-6-0 in match play. Shocker alum Chris Barnes narrowly missed making the television finals, placing 6th with a total pinfall of 6,226.

Peters led the qualifying portion of the tournament and then fell to 18th after the first round of match play. He then battled his way back to the top after shooting high scores and collecting bonus pins in his winning matches.

Blanchard’s journey to the televised finals was a little smoother. After qualifying 15th, he had an impressive match play record with 12 wins and only 4 losses to help catapult him to the top. Blanchard will bowl only one game for the title.

“It feels nice to only have to bowl one game. My plans are to have an open mind and play the lanes how they are given to me,” Blanchard said.
Two additional Shocker alumni made the match play portion of the Badger Open. Nathan Bohr finished 12th with a total of 6,137, while Sean Rash finished 18th. 

The Lucas Oil Badger Open is part of the PBA Summer Swing in Milwaukee, Wis. The PBA Summer Swing will consist of the Badger Open, Wolf Open, Bear Open, Milwaukee Open, and the Summer King of the Swing.

The Rhatigan Student Center has been the major financial and administrative supporter of the Wichita State University bowling program since 1959.