September 17, 2013 

Gordon Vadakin
Phone (316) 978-7655
Fax (316) 978-6056
email - shocker.bowling@wichita.edu

Shocker Bowling Selected and Developmental Team Members Chosen as Tryout Process Concludes

WICHITA, Kan. – Four men and four women were added to the 2013-2014 Wichita State University Shocker bowling men’s and women’s select teams on Monday as tryouts concluded in Wichita, Kan.

The three-week tryout process was conducted to determine the remaining spots on the men’s and women’s selected teams, as well as the spots available on the developmental teams.

Chris Colella (Templeton, Mass.), Matt Helmick (Rio Rancho, N.M.), Mike Murtha (Des Moines, Iowa) and Nick Powers (Sun Prairie, Wisc.) were chosen for the men’s selected team by Head Coach Gordon Vadakin, Assistant Coach Mark Lewis and interim Assistant Coach Nathan Bohr.

Brianna Amidon (Pittsfield, Mass.), Heather Melvin (Sioux Falls, S.D.), Michaela Oehler (Singapore) and Leela Yahya (Wichita, Kan.) were added to the women’s selected team.

The additional players were selected from a variety bowling and fitness statistics to join their teammates who earned exemptions from the tryout process.

Players who earned exemptions are not required to participate in the complete tryout process.

“We have very diverse group of players on our hands,” Vadakin said. “We are thrilled to begin the season.”

The following women earned exemptions for the 2013-2014 selected team: Holly Harris (Long Prairie, Minn.), Allie Ijams (Flagstaff, Ariz.), Dasha Kovalova (Moscow, Russia), Kelsey Muther (Topeka, Kan.), Laura Plazas (Bogota, Colombia), Chenoa Rhoades (Lafayette, Ind.), Tannya Roumimper, (Bandung, Indonesia) and Caitlin Tam (Ontario, Canada).

The following men earned exemptions for the 2013-2014 selected team: Devin Bidwell (Moorpark, Calif.), AJ Chapman (Manchester, Iowa), Mitch Hupe (Winnipeg, Canada), Francois Lavoie (Quebec City, Canada), Matt McNiel (Prior Lake, Minn.), Kris Prather (Milton, Fla.), Zach Rhoades (Lafayette, Ind.), Justin Zwaschka  (St. Joe, Mo.).

The following women were selected for the 2013-2014 developmental team: Casey Bailey (Hutchinson, Kan.), Ashlyn Herzberg (Wichita, Kan.), Valerie Matsumoto (Las Vegas, Nev.), Rachel Moe (Inver Heights, Minn.), Catherine Prather (Milton, Fla.).

The following men were selected for the 2013-2014 developmental team: Adrian Bohanan (Wichita, Kan.), Ryan Bordewick (Wichita, Kan.), Jason Ciszewski (Parlin, N.J.), Blake Demore (Springfield, Mo.), Packy Hanrahan (Greenwich, Conn.), Brandon Martin (Wichita, Kan.), Tyler Maxwell (Wichita, Kan.) Cody Porter (Wichita, Kan.), Tim Scott (West Milford, N.J.), Jack Stewart (Park City, Kan.), Andy Sykes (Southampton, England), Lucas Vernon (Lee’s Summit, Mo.), Dylan Woods (Wichita, Kan.).

The Shocker’s season begins Friday as they travel to Lima, Ohio for the UNOH Racers Kickoff.

More information about the 2013-2014 Shocker Bowling program, its season and its players can be found at wichita.edu/bowling.



The Rhatigan Student Center has been the major financial and administrative supporter of the Wichita State University bowling program since 1959.