logo
COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING

How Can you Get Involved?
Engineering Student Organizations.

WSU Engineering Student Organizations from WSU College of Engineering on Vimeo.

 


General Engineering Organizations

Engineering Council
Engineering Council is a student organization open to all engineering students at Wichita State University. The purpose of the Engineering Council is to promote the growth and development of engineering students and to conduct the business of the students. This business includes organizing social events, promoting the college, and representing student opinions on important issues.

Engineering Council helps freshmen engineers, serves as a communication link with engineering students at other universities, and provides education and leadership opportunities. 

President: Nicole Stahl, nastahl@wichita.edu
Adviser: Anna Sharpe, anna.sharpe@wichita.edu


Special Interest Engineering Organizations

Formula SAE 
The Wichita State University Formula SAE team, also known as Shocker Racing, is a student organization dedicated to the design, fabrication, testing, marketing, and racing of a small open wheel formula-style racecar. The team consists of students mainly from engineering majors, but all majors and years are welcomed. Shocker Racing competes in an annual FSAE event and multiple SCCA events in California, Texas, Michigan, Nebraska, and Kansas.

Team Captain: Scott Banman, scottabanman@gmail.com
Adviser: Dr. Krishna Krishnan, krishna.krishnan@wichita.edu

 

Mini-Baja SAE 
Baja SAE consists of three regional competitions that simulate real-world engineering design projects and their related challenges. Engineering students are tasked to design and build an off-road vehicle that will survive the severe punishment of rough terrain and water. Wichita State University's Baja SAE team competes in two Baja SAE events in the United States every year; in 2011 they will compete in Pittsburg, KS and Peoria, IL.

Captain: Landon Huslig, lchuslig@wichita.edu
Adviser: Dr. David Koert, david.koert@wichita.edu 

 

Engineers Without Borders 
To partner with developing communities to improve their quality of life through the implementation of environmentally and economically sustainable projects, while mentoring internationally responsible engineers.

President: Ernesto Cisneros, erniecisneros4@gmail.com
Adviser: Anna Sharpe, anna.sharpe@wichita.edu

 

NSBE - National Society of Black Engineers 
To increase the number of culturally responsible Black Engineers who excel academically, succeed professionally and positively impact the community.

President: Sandra Olekanma, solekanma@yahoo.com
Adviser: Kaye Monk-Morgan kaye.monk@wichita.edu

 

SHPE - Society of Hispanic Engineers 
The purpose of this student chapter is to increase the number of Hispanic engineering students at Wichita State University, promote the advancement of Hispanic engineers and scientists in employment and education, improve the retention of Hispanic students enrolled in engineering and science and to provide network opportunities for members.

President: Fernanda Quezada, mfquezadavalladares@wichita.edu
Adviser: Ana Lazarin, ana.lazarin@wichita.edu

 

SWE - Society of Women Engineers 
The Society of Women Engineers (SWE) was founded in 1950. It is a non-profit educational and service organization. SWE is the driving force that establishes engineering as a highly desirable career aspiration for women. SWE empowers women to succeed and advance in the engineering industry and be recognized for their life-changing contributions and achievements as engineers and leaders.

President: Lynette Kithiniji, lynettegacheri@yahoo.com
Adviser: Ana Lazarin, ana.lazarin@wichita.edu


Honor Organizations

Tau Beta Pi - Engineering Honor Society
Advisor: Walter Horn, walter.horn@wichita.edu

Alpha Pi Mu - Industrial Engineering Honor Society 
Advisor: Jan Twomey, janet.twomey@wichita.edu

Eta Kappa Nu - Electrical and Computer Engineering Honor Society
Advisor: Neeraj Jaggi, neeraj.jaggi@wichita.edu

Pi Tau Sigma - Mechanical Engineering Honor Society
Advisor: David Koert, david.koert@wichita.edu

Sigma Gamma Tau - Aerospace Engineering Honor Society
Advisor: Klaus Hoffmann, klaus.hoffman@wichita.edu

Wallace Scholars
Advisor: Samantha Corcoran, samantha.corcoran@wichita.edu


Professional Societies

AIAA - American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
AIAA’s mission is to address the professional needs and interests of the past, current, and future aerospace workforce and to advance the state of aerospace science, engineering, technology, operations, and policy to benefit our global society.

President: Coming Soon!
Adviser: Scott Miller, scott.miller@wichita.edu
.

 

ACM - Association for Computing Machinery 
Wichita State's student chapter of ACM is open to any Wichita State student with any interest in anything tech-related. Visit our website or Facebook page to learn more about our organization and when we meet. 

President: Coming Soon!
Adviser: John Matrow, 978-5306, john.matrow@wichita.edu

 

APICS - The Association for Operations Management 
The Wichita chapter of APICS is organized and operated to furnish instruction and training for persons interested in resource management. APICS provides opportunities for the mutual exchange of information and ideas; to foster and maintain the high standards of the resource management profession; to promote professional recognition; and to unite the Wichita membership in quality fellowship. The mission of the Wichita Chapter of the Education Society for Resource Management is to be the number one provider of quality educational resources in the field of Production and Inventory Management in the Wichita business community

President: Coming Soon!
Adviser: Lawrence Whitman, larry.whitman@wichita.edu

 

ASQ - American Society for Quality
As a professional association, ASQ advances the professional development, credentials, knowledge and information services, membership community, and advocacy on behalf of its more than 85,000 members worldwide. As champion of the quality movement, ASQ members are driven by a sense of responsibility to enrich their lives, to improve their workplaces and communities, and to make the world a better place by applying quality tools, techniques, and systems.

President: Coming Soon!
Adviser: Gamal Weheba, gamal.weheba@wichita.edu

 

ASME - American Society of Mechanical Engineers 
ASME is a not-for-profit membership organization that enables collaboration, knowledge sharing, career enrichment, and skills development across all engineering disciplines, toward a goal of helping the global engineering community develop solutions to benefit lives and livelihoods.

President: Coming Soon!
Adviser: Ikramuddin Ahmed ikram.ahmed@wichita.edu

 

BMES - Biomedical Engineering Society 
The Vision of the BMES is to serve as the world's leading society of professionals devoted to developing and using engineering and technology to advance human health and well-being. The Mission of the BMES is to build and support the biomedical engineering community, locally, nationally and internationally, with activities designed to communicate recent advances, discoveries, and inventions; promote education and professional development; and integrate the perspectives of the academic, medical, governmental, and business sectors.

President: Coming Soon!
Adviser: Dr. Michael Jorgensen, michael.jorgensen@wichita.edu

 

IEEE - Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers
IEEE is the world’s largest professional association dedicated to advancing technological innovation and excellence for the benefit of humanity. IEEE and its members inspire a global community through IEEE's highly cited publications, conferences, technology standards, and professional and educational activities.

President: Coming Soon!
Adviser: Vinod Namboodiri vinod.namboodiri@wichita.edu

 

IIE - Institute of Industrial Engineers 
IIE is the world’s largest professional society dedicated solely to the support of the industrial engineering profession and individuals involved with improving quality and productivity. Founded in 1948, IIE is an international, nonprofit association that provides leadership for the application, education, training, research, and development of industrial engineering.

President: Coming Soon!
Adviser: Bayram Yildirim bayram.yildirim@wichita.edu

 

SAE - Society of Automotive Engineers 
SAE International is a global body of scientists, engineers, and practitioners that advances self-propelled vehicle and system knowledge in a neutral forum for the benefit of society.

President: Coming Soon!
Adviser: David Koert, david.koert@wichita.edu

 

SME - Society of Manufacturing Engineers 
The Society of Manufacturing Engineers is the world's leading professional society advancing manufacturing knowledge and influencing more than half a million manufacturing practitioners annually. Through its communities, publications, expositions and professional development resources, SME promotes an increased awareness of manufacturing engineering and keeps manufacturing professionals up to date on leading trends and technologies.  

President: Coming Soon!
Adviser: Dr. Wilfredo Moscoso, wilfredo.moscoso@wichita.edu