Honors College

The Honors College strives to be a model of excellence - in teaching, in learning, and in service.

In the Beginning… An Honors program was founded at Wichita State in 1957, one of the earliest in the country.  In 1978, the Honors program was named after Emory Lindquist, Rhodes Scholar and eighth President of Wichita State University.  JPEG Image

In the spirit of Emory Lindquist, the Honors curriculum is flexible, interdisciplinary, and designed to foster intellectual innovation, collaboration across campus, and service to academic, creative, and civic communities.

Continuing in this spirit of intellectual growth and service, in 2013 the current Honors College was formed, the first such Honors College in the state of Kansas; and in July of the following year, the Honors Baccalaureate was approved.

Wichita State's Honors College emphasizes high expectations; close interaction between students and professors (in and out of class); global and cultural awareness; active and service learning; teamwork and leadership development; and the cultivation of skills related to lifelong learning, good citizenship and success in the workplace.

At the heart of the Honors College is the Emory Lindquist Honors Scholars program, which provides high-achieving and highly motivated students challenging classes and a strong student network in the first two years of their studies at WSU.

Emory Lindquist
President of WSU
Famous phrase: "Something more about to be... Keep on the line of discovery...."

In addition, new interdisciplinary tracks will be launched in 2014-2015.  Interdisciplinary tracks are designed for continuing students and transfer students and require coursework within honors, across disciplines and across colleges.  Interdisciplinary track students complete an internship or shadowing experience related to their interdisciplinary inquiry.

The University Honors minor became available beginning in fall 2014.  Students who complete the Honors Scholars program plus an Interdisciplinary track receive the University Honors minor and the distinction “University Honors” on the diploma.

An Honors Living-Learning Community began operating in fall 2010 and moved to Shocker Hall, the new residence hall which opened in fall 2014.

Wichita State is a member of the National Collegiate Honors Council (NCHC), the Great Plains Honors Council (GPHC), and the Council on Undergraduate Research (CUR). For more, see our 2013-2014 Annual Report.

 JPEG Image