The Cohen Honors College operates subject to the founding Charter, current College Bylaws, and Wichita State University Policies and Procedures.

External consultation with alumni and friends serving on the advisory board creates stronger programs and student opportunities.

Honors Stripe

College Governance

Honors Council and Advisory Board

Faculty and student participation in university and college governance is vital to the proper functioning and success of the university. 

The University Honors College Council is the governing board and decision-making body for the college. The full council meets at least once each semester and is comprised of the Student Council and the Faculty Council. The Student Council meets every week on Thursday at 3:30, and the Faculty Council meets the third Thursday of each month at 3:30.

The external Cohen Honors Advisory Board first convened April 22, 2016 with 9 alumni and 2 honorary members. Chaired by the Honorable Eric F. Melgren, Honors/History ’79, the board meets twice per year to advise the Dean and helps develop student mentorship and opportunities throughout the year.

University Honors College Council

The University Honors College Council is chaired by the Dean and chaired administratively by the  Assistant to the Dean.

Honors College Student Council
To bring an idea or concern to the student council, email honorsstudentcouncil@wichita.edu
Click here to meet the current council!

  • Andrew Martin, Chair and Director of Alumni Relations
  • Kaylee Ball, Director of Records
  • Lucy Cook, WHEAT Student Organization Representative
  • Tabatha Polk, WHEAT Student Organization and At-Large Representative
  • Lindsay Larkin, Director of Recruitment (represented by Kylie Cameron Sp18)
  • Noor Farhoud, Vice Chair for Student Retention
  • Abby Jurgensmeir, Director of Marketing and Outreach
  • Kylie Cameron and Jeremy Grafke, Peer Academic Leader Representatives
  • Saylis Sengvilay, Honors College Senator, SGA
  • Honors Advisor, ex officio
  • Honors Dean, ex officio

Honors College Faculty Council
To email a faculty council member, click on the name below.