Mathematics and Statistics

Graduate Study Inquiries

Dr Kirk Lancaster, Graduate Coordinator

How To Apply

Undergraduate Study Inquiries

Paul Scheuerman, Undergraduate Coordinator

Telephone: 316-978-3986

General Inquiries

Mathematics and Statistics
Wichita State University
1845 Fairmount Street
Wichita, Kansas 67260-0033
Telephone: 316-978-3160
Fax: 316-978-3748

Problem of the Month

Current Problem


  • The Annual Conference for the Kansas of the Mathematical Association of America (MAA) was held April 13-14, 2012 at Kansas State University. On Saturday, April 14th, an undergraduate mathematics’ competition was held. The competition consisted of a three hour exam. There were teams from Kansas State University, University of Kansas, Fort Hays State University, Pittsburg State University Emporia State University, Wichita State University, Tabor College, Washburn University, and Baker University. Some schools entered more than one team. The team from Wichita State University, Arnold durel Deffo Nde and Jarod Hoppis, placed second in the competition.
    Congratulations Arnold and Jarod.

JPEG ImageJPEG Image

  • Patrick Rinker was awarded 2nd Place Oral Presentation, 2012 GRASP Symposium.
  • Professor Elizabeth Behrman has received the 2012 Academy for Effective Teaching Award.
  • Everett Kropf has received the 2011 Dora Wallace Hodgson Outstanding Doctoral-Level Student Award.
  • Everett Kropf has received the 2009 WSU Graduate School Outstanding Master's Thesis Award.
  • Professor Victor Isakov receives grant for Homeland Security research.
  • Professor Victor Isakov has been awarded the Emylou Keith and Betty Dutcher Faculty of Distinction Endowed Professorship.
  • Professor Kirk Lancaster has received the WSU President's Award for Distinguished Service for 2007.

Scholarship Awardees 2013-2014

Alexandra Echart
Shengfeng Gao
Michael Hayden
Bridget Koenig
Shurong Li
Jaron Melin
Francis Nguyen
Taylore Nguyen
Davis Njorombe
Justin Ryan
Saman Sahraei
Joshua Scott
Olivia Stewart
Nicholas Thomas
Kamika Thomas-Hicks
Samantha Tilson
Robert Zavala