JPEG Image

2015 Shocker MINDSTORMS Challenge

Doctor Wu

Overview and Timeline

    January 10 - Team Registration Opens (8 weeks before Challenge Day), 8:00am
    January 10 - Course details released on the MINDSTORMS website, 8:00am
    January 17 - Course preview for MINDSTORMS course builders, 10:00am-12:00pm, Wallace Hall
    February 6 - Team Registration CLOSES, 12:00pm
    February 7 - Trial Day (4 weeks before Challenge Day), 10:00am-2:00pm, WSU Heskett Center
    March 7, 2015 - MINDSTORMS Challenge, 8:30am-4:00pm, WSU Heskett Center

On March 7, 2015 the Colleges of Engineering and Education at Wichita State University will host the 15th Annual WSU Shocker MINDSTORMS Robotics Challenge. Teams of students, in grades 3-8, or ages 8-14 from across the state of Kansas will have the opportunity to complete courses designed by Shocker Engineering students. Teams will demonstrate what they have learned to industry professionals and WSU representatives in Presentations, Team Displays and Notebook. Spirit and Sportsmanship will be judged throughout the day to promote collaboration and teamwork.

The 2015 Shocker MINDSTORMS Challenge is a joint effort of the Colleges of Engineering and Education, and local industry. Many student organizations, faculty members, professional educators, engineers, and industry professionals volunteer their time to make this event a success. Spirit AeroSystems and WSU's College of Engineering provide funding for the 2015 event.

The Shocker MINDSTORMS Challenge is open to the public. Spectators, parents, grandparents, friends, classmates, and interested engineers and educators are invited and welcome. The Shocker MINDSTORMS Challenge provides an excellent exhibition of young people's efforts, dedication, knowledge, and skills.

2015 Shocker MINDSTORMS Challenge Steering Committee:
   Polly Basore, College of Engineering
   Amber Fischer, College of Engineering
   Andrea Holzwarth, College of Engineering
    Kirsten Jensen, Beechcraft Corporation
    Eric D. Mead, Beechcraft Corporation
    Karen Reynolds, College of Engineering
    Mary Robillard, College of Education
    Amanda Smith, College of Engineering
    Lawrence E. Whitman, College of Engineering