Steering Committee

WSU President John Bardo launched a strategic planning effort for Wichita State University, envisioning a dynamic, powerful future for WSU. To this end, he formed the Strategic Planning Steering Committee. As directed by President Bardo, the committee worked to

  • Broadly discuss the meaning of the mission of WSU;
  • Delineate core institutional values that define the university’s culture and that must be represented in all specific plans;
  • Examine institutional strengths and weaknesses, and identify key external opportunities, threats and obstacles to institutional success;
  • Create an exciting, energizing, mission-driven, visionary goal for the university as the institutional rallying point; and
  • Define the thematic goals to be addressed in unit and divisional plans.

Committee members were chosen by President Bardo. They represented faculty, staff, student, alumni and community partners. Committee co-chairs were Cindy Claycomb, WSU professor of marketing and Ed O'Malley, president and CEO, Kansas Leadership Center. The committee sought to engage the community, gather, share and examine data and make sense of the results. The committee also sought to engage concerned constituencies, welcoming input and feedback from all.

Strategic Planning Steering Committee Roster

Matthew Albers
President, Classified Senate
Wichita State University

Brian Barents
Retired President and CEO
Galaxy Aerospace Corporation

Luis Cargajal
Student Body President
Wichita State University

Alex Chaparro
Professor and Chair, Psychology, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Wichita State University

Cindy Claycomb
Committee Co-Chair
Professor, Marketing and Neff Family Fellow in Business, Barton School of Business
Wichita State University

Dianne Coleman
Strategic Planning Assistant
Wichita State University

Chester Daniel
President and CEO
Urban League of Kansas

Alexandrea Diaz
Student, Residence Life
Wichita State University

Connie Dietz
President, Unclassified Professionals Senate
Director, Cooperative Education and Work-based Learning
Wichita State University

Holly Dyer
Foulston Siefkin LLP

Becky Endicott
Senior Associate Athletics Director
Wichita State University

Suzanne Hawley
Professor and Chair, Public Health Sciences, College of Health Professions
Wichita State University

Bill Hendry
Professor and Chair, Biology, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Wichita State University

Herman Hicks
Pastor, Greater Pentecostal Church of God in Christ
President, Greater Wichita Ministerial League

Rick LeCompte
Associate Professor and Chair, Finance, Real Estate, and Decision Sciences
H. Dean Heskett Chair in Finance, Barton School of Business
Wichita State University

Don Malzahn
Professor, Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering, College of Engineering
Wichita State University

Russ Meyer
Chairman Emeritus
Cessna Aircraft Company

Bill Moore
Retired CEO
Westar Energy

Cathy Moore-Jansen
Associate Professor
University Libraries

Lynn Nichols
President and CEO
Yingling Aviation

Ed O'Malley
Committee Co-Chair
President and CEO
Kansas Leadership Center

Marilyn Pauly
Vice Chairman
Commerce Bank

Abe Rodriguez
Executive Director
Wichita Hispanic Chamber

Robert Ross
President, Faculty Senate
Associate Professor, Marketing, Barton School of Business
Wichita State University

John Schlegel
Director of Planning
Wichita/Sedgwick County

Christine Schneikart-Luebbe
Associate Vice President, Student Engagement and Dean, Enrollment Management
Wichita State University

Dennis Schoenebeck
Executive Director
Wichita YMCA

Aleks Sternfeld-Dunn
Assistant Professor, Music, College of Fine Arts
Wichita State University

Alicia Thompson
Assistant Superintendent Elementary
USD 259

Jackie Vietti
Butler Community College

Paul Werner
University Budget Director
Wichita State University