This week's Of Note

A number of faculty will be promoted, tenured and receive the professor incentive review awards, effective July 1.

Chinyere Okafor, women's studies, and Daniel Russell, philosophy, were granted tenure.

The following were granted tenure and promoted to associate professor: Ikramuddin Ahmed, mechanical engineering; Gwen Alexander, WSU Libraries; Michael Birzer, School of Community Affairs; Rachel Crane, WSU Libraries; Michael Jorgensen, industrial and manufacturing engineering; Robert Manske, physical therapy; William Parcell, geology; Carolyn Shaw, political science; Linda Starkey, School of Music; Kathy Strattman, communication sciences and disorders; William Vanderburgh, philosophy; and Christian Wolf, mathematics and statistics.

Sue Nyberg, physician assistant, and Kathy Downes, WSU Libraries, were also promoted to associate professor.

Sue Abdinnour-Helm in finance, real estate and decision sciences; Patricia Dooley, Elliott School of Communication; Ravi Pendse and Steven Skinner, electrical and computer engineering, were promoted to professor.

The following professors were granted professor incentive review awards: Julie Bees, School of Music; Raymond Calabrese, educational leadership; William Groutas, chemistry; Hussein Hamdeh, physics; Barbara Hodson, communication sciences and disorders; Hamid Lankarani, mechanical engineering; Greg Meissen, psychology; Nicholas Smith, School of Music; James Snyder, psychology; and Gary Toops, modern and classical languages and literatures.

Denise Maseman, chair and assistant professor, dental hygiene department, was awarded $23,000 by the United Methodist Health Ministries Fund for the project “Dental Hygiene Clinic Renovation/Expansion.”

John Tomblin, executive director, National Institute for Aviation Research, was awarded $125,000 by the Federal Aviation Administration for the project “Production Control Effect on Composite Material Quality and Stability.”

Dinorah Azpurah, assistant professor, political science, was an invited panelist in the symposium “Prospects for Democracy in Latin America” held at the University of North Texas in April.

Dennis J. Kear, associate dean and professor, College of Education, and Amy Valentas, master's degree candidate in curriculum and instruction, presented the paper “Writing with a passion!” at the annual spring conference of the Kansas Reading Association held in Wichita.

Niall Shanks, the Curtis D. Gridley Distinguished Professor in the History and Philosophy of Science, has been elected president of the Southwestern/Rocky Mountain division of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Ted Ayres, vice president and general counsel, wrote a book review of “A Well-Paid Slave” that was published in a recent publication by the Missouri Bar Association.

Mark Lewis, women's bowling coach, was given the Kerm Helmer Coach of the Year award by the National Collegiate Bowling Coaches Association. The Shocker women's bowling team captured the national title in bowling, as well.

WSU job opportunities can be accessed online at
http://www.hrepartners.comor at http://www.wichita.edu/hr.

Subscribe to Newsletter
Your Name:

Top Stories
Showing Shocker pride
You've got spam ... or a virus
Some hints to lessen virus threats, spam
Costume shop turns time inside out
Wood involved with Brown V. BOE project
More Top Stories

Other Headlines

Click here for
WSU Events Calendar

Back to the top

Inside WSU is published by the Office of University Communications for Wichita State University faculty, staff and friends on biweekly during the fall and spring semesters. Items to be considered for publication should be sent to campus box 62 or joe.kleinsasser@wichita.edu.

Site and site admin tools developed/maintained by University Relations,
Editor Joe Kleinsasser

Copyright 1997-2018, Wichita State University. All rights reserved.